On Bear in Heaven, Sunset Airway, Lower Dens

November 5, 2010 § 2 Comments

Bear in Heaven

I would feel a little foolish dropping a link in this blog for everything I write somewhere else. But it makes sense to say that I’ve been spending a lot of time writing live show reviews for OPB Music. Barring any major lifestyle changes I’ll be posting on their site more and more often over the next few months.

This Bear in Heaven/Sunset Airway/Lower Dens piece is my most recent review.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to On Bear in Heaven, Sunset Airway, Lower Dens

  • Ross Chaste says:

    Dear Alex,
    Thank you so much for writing about Lower Dens which deserve all the press they can get. I was wondering if you would reconsider the use of the term freak-folk to describe their music?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freak_folk

    • Alex Lewis says:

      Hey Ross – I completely agree that Lower Dens are not a “freak-folk” band, per se. But I think some of the avant-garde/experimental elements that you hear in their music draws some similarities to that genre. I mainly mentioned it because they are signed to Banhart’s label and he’s kind of the paragon of this stuff.

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On Bear in Heaven, Sunset Airway, Lower Dens at Broadband Noise.

meta

